Raspberry Peanut Cake | Himbeer-Erdnuss-Torte

[deutsche Version]

It was by brothers birthday, and I made this for the party 🙂 soft vanilla cake, creamy sweet peanut cream and as many raspberries as I could fit on the cake. And it tasted amazing, everyone loved it. The last time I baked something similar, I had the same kinda Eureka moment, when I realised how well peanut and raspberry fit together – in my PB&J cupcakes, which I even love more than chocolate. And that says a lot 🙂

The only downside of it being so incredibly tasty, was that I couldn´t take a picture of the cake layers. I couldn´t very well cut it before I brought it to the party, so the only inside photo was taken in the evening in bad light, and a shaky smartphone camera. So you´ll just have to believe me when I say it looked and tasted incredible.

Another thing: over the years I´ve bought lots of vegan specialty products. Coffee creamer, natural food colourings, custard powder, sweet spreads… and I´ve come to the conclusion that I don´t really need those. But my kitchen is filled with lots of these, and I don´t want to waste them. So from now on I will use them up. There will be lots of experiments.

Also, somehow I´ve never really used my cookbooks. My plan is to make something from a cooking or baking book once a month. So you will probably get lots of my own experiments, and book recommendations when I like the recipes.

Raspberry Peanut Cake

Vanilla cake

  • recipe from Sarahbakesgf – I only used half the amount of sugar, and Schärs glutenfree cake mix. Baked it in two 26cm round springform pans.

Peanut cream

  • 270g Vantastic Foods Whity (coffee creamer)
  • 270g Schlagfix (unsweetened whipping cream)
  • 1 vanilla pod
  • about 1 jar of peanut butter
  • optional: 2 tbsp MyEy Eygelb (vegan egg yolk), vanilla aroma

I had bought Whity coffee creamer, but I never got around to using it. So I had the idea to make it into a kind of “dairy” cream. I added the creamer powder to a pot, added the liquid whipping cream and combined it with a whisk. The consistency was a bit more runny than fresh custard. I halved the vanilla pod, scraped out the seeds and added them. I tasted it and didn´t like it, so I added some eggyolk powder until it was a light yellow. At this point it was somewhat inspired by pastry cream (milk, sugar and eggyolks).

Then I added a few drops vanilla aroma, but it didn´t really need it. I poured it into my mixer and whipped it until fluffy. It didn´t get fluffy enough for my liking, so I put it into the fridge for a while. When it had cooled down, I added about 1 jar of peanut butter and whipped it until creamy and fluffy.

Raspberries

  • about 2 frozen packs of raspberries

Assembly: Bake 2 vanilla cakes and let them cool. Make the peanut cream. Level the cakes. From what I cut off I made hearts (with cookie cutters). Then: vanilla cake, some peanut cream, and a border on the outside, then filled it with raspberries. Another vanilla cake, peanut cream, and as many raspberries as I could fit on the cake. Peanut cream around the outside, add the hearts (they will stick to the buttercream). I had some cream left, so I coloured it with natural red food colouring and piped the border around the outside.

_______________________________

Mein Bruder hatte Geburtstag, und ich habe einen Kuchen gebacken 🙂 weichen Vanilleboden, cremig süße Erdnusscreme und so viele Himbeeren, wie draufpassen. Und er schmeckte toll, und alle fanden ihn sehr lecker. Als ich das letzte Mal etwas Ähnliches gebacken hatte, wurde mir klar, wie gut Erdnuss und Himbeer zueinander passen. Meine Himbeer-Erdnuss-Cupcakes liebe ich immerhin mehr als Schokolade. Und das soll was heißen 🙂

Der einzige Nachteil: ich konnte kein Foto von den Schichten machen. Ich konnte den Kuchen ja nicht vor der Party anschneiden, und deshalb gab es nur ein Foto des Innenlebens. Abends, in schlechtem Licht, mit einer wackligen Smartphone-Kamera. Also müsst ihr mir einfach glauben, dass es super aussah und schmeckte 🙂

Und noch etwas. Über die Jahre hinweg habe ich viele vegane Produkte gekauft. Spezielle, stark verarbeitete Produkte wie Kaffeeweißer, Lebensmittelfarbe, süße Aufstriche… und ich bin zu dem Schluss gekommen, dass ich die nicht wirklich brauche. Aber meine Küche steht voll damit, und ich will auch nichts verschwenden, also werde ich sie eben aufbrauchen. Ihr könnt euch auf leckere Experimente freuen.

Und irgendwie habe ich meine Kochbücher nie wirklich verwendet. Mein Plan ist deshalb, jeden Monat mindestens ein Rezept aus meinen Koch- und Backbüchern zu machen. Also kriegt ihr meine eigenen Experimente, und Buchempfehlungen, wenn mir deren Rezepte gefallen.

Himbeer-Erdnuss-Torte

Vanilleboden

  • Rezept von Sarahbakesgf – ich habe nur die Hälfte des Zucker genommen, und Schär Kuchenmix. Gebacken in zwei runden 26cm Springformen.

Erdnusscreme

  • 270g Vantastic Foods Whity Kaffeeweißer
  • 270g Schlagfix ungesüßte Sahne
  • 1 Vanilleschote
  • ca. 1 Glas Erdnussbutter
  • optional: ein paar Tropfen Buttervanille-Aroma, ca. 2 EL MyEy Eygelb

Ich hatte Whity Kaffeeweißer gekauft, und die Packung nicht alle gekriegt. Also hatte ich die Idee, es mit Sahne zu einer Art Milchcreme zu verarbeiten. Kaffeeweißer in einen Topf, Schlagfix ungesüßte Schlagcreme dazu, und mit Schneebesen verrührt, Konsistenz etwas flüssiger als Vanillepudding. 1 Vanilleschote ausgekratzt. Geschmack hat mir nicht ganz gefallen, also gab ich etwas MyEy Eygelb dazu, bis es leicht gelb war, und etwas nach Ei schmeckte. Vom Ansatz her war es jetzt Pastry Cream (Milch, Zucker,Mehl, Eigelb) inspiriert.

Dann habe ich noch ein paar Tropfen Buttervanille-Aroma dazugegeben, aber das hätte es nicht wirklich gebraucht. In die Maschine und aufschlagen. Da es mir nicht luftig genug wurde, hab ichs in den Kühlschrank gestellt. Dann Erdnussbutter dazu, und nochmal aufgeschlagen.

Himbeeren

  • about 2 frozen packs of raspberries

Zusammensetzung: 2 Vanilleböden gebacken, abkühlen lassen. Erdnusscreme hergestellt.  Dann Böden gelevelt. Vom Abschnitt habe ich Herzen ausgestochen und als Deko benutzt. Dann: Vanilleboden, etwas Erdnusscreme drauf, einen Rand außenrum, und Himbeeren bis alles bedeckt war. Wieder Boden, etwas Erdnusscreme und Himbeeren obendrauf. Von außen mit Erdnusscreme glattgestrichen und die Herzen draufgeklebt. Restliche Creme mit etwas Farbe angemischt, und den Rand aufgespritzt.

4 thoughts on “Raspberry Peanut Cake | Himbeer-Erdnuss-Torte

Leave a Reply

