Vegan Mofo Day 9 – Waffles | Waffeln

IMG_5029 IMG_5030 IMG_5033 IMG_5034 IMG_5036 IMG_5037

[deutsche Version]

YAY! Can I just say how incredibly happy I am? This is the first time in about 2 years that I had waffles. I´ve been missing them soo much, and I never had the chance to make them vegan-glutenfree, and also I could never find a waffle iron. But those sad times are over, because now I do🙂 well, it´s a very old one. And its not non-stick. And you can´t regulate temperature. But I finally figured out how to make yummy, fluffy waffles. And also one crispy one, because I can never decide which one I like more. Soft or crispy? You decide! And now go make them.

Daily Mofofavs!

Vegan Peanut Butter Cup Cookies – by forkandbeans
Apple Ginger Breakfast Muffins – by czechchicasnoshery
Chocolate Chip Peanut Butter Cookie Bars – by allysonkramer
Raw Taco Salad with Spicy Chipotle Aioli and Cashew Sour Cream – by veggiegirl
Protein-Packed Salad with Avocado, Tempeh, & Tangy Tahini Lime Dressing – by justabtvegan

Waffles – after this recipe

(Made 4 Waffles in my waffle maker. Big ones, so roughly 2-3 portions total)

  • 1 1/4 cups flour (1/2 chestnut flour, 1/2 buckwheat flour, 1/4 rice flour)
  • 1/2 cup starch
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon sea salt
  • 2 tablespoons sugar
  • 1/4 cup oil
  • 1 cup rice milk

Make the dough by mixing all the ingredients until combined. Heat up waffle iron until hot. Grease it (I used Alsan – vegan butter). Pour one ladle batter in, and bake. I went by smell to determine when it was done. Just get a feeling for it.

The dough should not be too liquidy, otherwise it can stick to the sides of the waffle pan and rip in the middle. If you make the batter a bit thicker, it should work.

Because I was using a very old waffle iron, I had to adapt a bit. Here´s what I did:

  1. heat up completely (it gets really hot)
  2. grease
  3. ladle dough in
  4. close
  5. turn off heat
  6. when waffle is done, repeat with the next one

With a newer one it should be easier. Heat up, dough in. When done, take out and repeat. My waffle iron did not have a medium heat, only on (too hot) and off (too cold), so I had to be very careful that they didn´t burn, get too crispy, or not get done and turn out tough instead of fluffy.

940x198_r1_header

_______________________________

Yippieh! Kann ich kurz sagen, wie sehr ich mich freue? Ich habe das erste Mal in  Jahren wieder Waffeln gemacht. Sie haben mir so gefehlt, weil ich nicht wusste, wie ich sie vegan+glutenfrei machen soll… und ich hatte auch kein Waffeleisen. Aber diese Zeiten sind vorbei, denn jetzt habe ich eins🙂 naja, es ist ziemlich alt. Und nicht beschichtet. Und man kann die Temperatur nicht richtig regulieren. Aber ich habs endlich raus, leckere luftige Waffeln zu machen. Und auch knusprige, weil ich mich nie entscheiden kann, welche ich mehr mag. Weich oder knusprig? Eure Entscheidung. Und jetzt macht diese Waffeln😛

Tägliche Mofofavoriten!

Vegan Peanut Butter Cup Cookies – by forkandbeans
Apple Ginger Breakfast Muffins – by czechchicasnoshery
Chocolate Chip Peanut Butter Cookie Bars – by allysonkramer
Raw Taco Salad with Spicy Chipotle Aioli and Cashew Sour Cream – by veggiegirl
Protein-Packed Salad with Avocado, Tempeh, & Tangy Tahini Lime Dressing – by justabtvegan

Waffeln – nach diesem Rezept

(bei mir waren es 4 große Waffeln. etwa 2-3 Portionen)

  • 1 1/4 cups Mehl (1/2 Kastanienmehl, 1/2 Buchweizenmehl, 1/4 Reismehl)
  • 1/2 cup Stärke
  • 2 TL Backpulver
  • 1/2 TL Salz
  • 2 EL Zucker
  • 1/4 cup Öl
  • 1 cup Reismilch

Für den Teig alle Zutaten gut vermischen. Waffeleisen aufheizen, bis es komplett heiß ist. Einfetten (ich habe Alsan genommen). Eine Kelle Teig hinein und backen. Ich bin nach meinem Geruchssinn gegangen. Bei Waffeleisen muss man einfach ein Gefühl entwickeln^^

Der Teig sollte nicht zu flüssig sein, sonst kann er in der Mitte reißen und bleibt dann an beiden Seiten des Waffeleisens kleben. Eher etwas dickflüssiger machen, dann halten die Waffeln gut zusammen.

Da ich ein superaltes, unbeschichtetes Waffeleisen genommen habe, musste ich es etwas anpassen:

  1. komplett aufheizen (es wird sehr heiß)
  2. einfetten
  3. 1 Kelle Teig rein
  4. zuklappen
  5. Hitze ausstellen
  6. wenn Waffel fertig ist, rausnehmen und wieder von vorn beginnen

Mit einem beschichteten Waffeleisen sollte es einfacher sein. Aufheizen, Teig rein. Wenn er fertig ist, rausnehmen, und das nächste rein. Bei meinem gabs halt keinen Medium-Schalter, nur an (zu heiß) oder aus (zu kalt), also musste ich etwas mehr aufpassen, damit sie nicht anbrennen, zu kross werden, oder nicht fertig backen und statt fluffig pappig werden.

 

10 thoughts on “Vegan Mofo Day 9 – Waffles | Waffeln

  1. I couldn’t believe it when I saw the shape of your waffles! My best friend has the same waffle iron. Supper old, nonstick, her mom got it at a garage sale! I myself just got a waffle maker and was looking for more recipes. Thank you for sharing! WAFFLES!!!!!

Leave a Reply

