Vegan Mofo Day 3 – Strawberry Tree Fruit Jam | Arbocer-Marmelade

IMG_3322 IMG_3325 IMG_3725 IMG_3726 IMG_3728  IMG_3737

[deutsche Version]

Do you know these fruits? They´re from a tree that I discovered when I was working in Spain. Its called Arbocer in the local language, Strawberry tree in English, and Arbutus unedo in Latin.

Now these lovely little fruits. When they´re in season, you can find them all over the countryside. They are sweet, and have a mellow taste, a bit like an apple. Also I think they look super cute. One time we picked a lot of them, so I decided to try and make jam out of them. I kept it really simple, and just cooked it with some lemon juice and brown sugar (adjust to taste). Remember to not blend it, or the little pieces on the outside will be in there… and you don´t want crunchy marmalade. Just cook until it has reduced a bit, then strain through a sieve.

Also its time for my daily mofo link favourites🙂 But I really could not decide which ones I like most. So what I will post here are my top 5…

Raw Roasted Pepper Pizza – by rawon10
Quinoa, Lentils & Sauteed Greens with a Creamy, Savoury Dressing – by veganinsanity
Garlic-Kale Stuffed Portobello Burgers – by spabettie
Gluten-free Vegan Homemade Ding Dongs – by forkandbeans
Gluten-Free Chocolate & Coconut Tart – by chicvegan

940x198_r1_header

_______________________________

Kennt ihr diese Früchte? Sie sind von einem Baum, den ich in Spanien das erste Mal gesehen habe. Er heißt Arbocer in der lokalen Sprache, westlicher Erdbeerbaum auf Deutsch, und Arbutus unedo in Lateinisch.

Nun zu den Früchten. In der Saison findet man sie überall in der Natur. Sie sind süß, und haben einen milden Geschmack, der etwas an Apfel erinnert. Und ich finde, sie sehen super niedlich aus. Einmal haben wir recht viele gepflückt, und ich habe daraus Marmelade gemacht. Ich habe sie einfach mit Zitronensaft und braunem Zucker gekocht (Menge nach Geschmack anpassen). Und nicht pürieren! oder die kleinen Stückchen auf der Außenseite kommen mit rein. Und wer will schon knusprige Marmelade^^ einfach kochen, bis es weich ist, und das Wasser verkocht ist, und dann durch ein Sieb streichen.

Und nun wird es Zeit für meine liebsten Mofo-Links. Aber ich konnte mich einfach nicht entscheiden, welche ich am meisten mag, also hier meine Top5 (Rezepte in englisch)…

Raw Roasted Pepper Pizza – by rawon10
Quinoa, Lentils & Sauteed Greens with a Creamy, Savoury Dressing – by veganinsanity
Garlic-Kale Stuffed Portobello Burgers – by spabettie
Gluten-free Vegan Homemade Ding Dongs – by forkandbeans
Gluten-Free Chocolate & Coconut Tart – by chicvegan

2 thoughts on “Vegan Mofo Day 3 – Strawberry Tree Fruit Jam | Arbocer-Marmelade

  1. Diese Früchte habe ich noch nie gesehen! Von der Farbe erinnert die Marmelade ein wenig an Sanddorn, aber das wars auch schon. Ich würde mich gerne mal auf die Suche machen.

Leave a Reply

