Hazelnut Praline Paste | Haselnuss-Krokant-Creme

IMG_3695 IMG_3696 IMG_3699 IMG_3708 IMG_3711 IMG_3714 IMG_3724 IMG_3730 IMG_3731

[deutsche Version]

I think it was about two years ago that I first heard of Praline Paste and I immediately fell in love. It has many different names, and especially in different languages it starts to get confusing. What I´m talking about is basically roasted and caramelised hazelnuts, which are then blended into a smooth paste. I was just starting out making truffles and chocolates, and I couldn´t always find the ingredients I wanted in stores, so I turned to the Internet and found this.

For everyone who likes Nougat (the German one, not the Turkish Nougat), or marzipan, or nuts in general – you will love this. It´s gorgeous. Its hazelnuts and caramel, all blended into one. Sweet, nutty, creamy, smooth goodness. I would even say it can easily stand up to the famous Nutella (or chocolate hazelnut spreads). The hazelnut flavour is more pronounced, and in my book thats a good thing :) Or you could make it and still add some cocoa powder or chocolate, if you like. But I find it doesn´t  need anything else.

Do I even need to tell you to make this? It is heavenly. Just… no words. Homemade caramel nut butter. Wonderfully smooth or crunchy. If you have a good blender, make it. If not, buy a good blender and then make it. Seriously.

-

Hazelnut Praline Paste – 2 Ways: crunchy and smooth

  • 2 cups roasted candied hazelnuts / Krokant*
  • about 1 cup crushed hazelnuts or almonds
  • sunflower oil or any other flavourless oil (optional)

* I used storebought roasted caramelised nut pieces (Krokant), but feel free to make your own.

In a blender blend the candied roasted almonds until as smooth as possible. If you don´t have a high speed blender you might have to add some sunflower oil to get it moving. Blend until smooth. You can stop there, but I wanted to make to versions of nut butter: creamy smooth and crunchy.

Because my blender is not very strong, it couldn´t make it smooth, so here´s what I did. I blended the nuts for a few minutes (make sure your blender does not overheat, especially if it´s not a high powered one), and turned it off when it turned warm/hot. I strained the resulting nut butter through 2 sieves with different fine mesh (the finer, the more smooth the result will be). To the crunchy part (what is left in the sieve) I added about 1 cup of crushed hazelnuts and a tiny bit of sunflower oil because it was quite firm (optional, just to make it more spreadable).

_______________________________

Es war vor zwei Jahren, als ich das erste Mal von Praliné (Haselnusspaste) gehört habe, und ich habe mich sofort verliebt (es hat viele verschiedene Namen und in anderen Sprachen wird es noch verwirrender). Ich meine geröstete und kandierte Haselnüsse, welche dann zu einer Creme püriert werden. Ich hatte gerade angefangen, selber Pralinen und Trüffel herzustellen, und ich konnte in Läden nicht immer finden, was ich suchte – also schaute ich im Internet und war begeistert.

Für jeden, der Nougat mag, oder Marzipan – oder Nüsse im Allgemeinen – wird es lieben. Es ist wundervoll. Haselnüsse und Karamell, püriert zu einer süßen, nussigen, leckeren Creme. Ich würde sogar sagen, es kann sich mit Nutella messen (oder anderen Schoko-Nuss-Aufstrichen). Der Haselnuss-Geschmack ist stärker ausgeprägt und in meinen Augen ist das was Gutes :) ihr könnt natürlich noch Kakaopulver oder Schokolade hinzufügen, wenn ihr mögt. Aber ich finde, das braucht es gar nicht.

Muss ich euch überhaupt noch überreden, das Rezept zu probieren? Es ist himmlisch. Einfach nur… ohne Worte. Hausgemachte Karamell-Nuss-Creme. Wundervoll und cremig, oder mit knackigen Nussstückchen drin. Wenn ihr einen guten Mixer habt, macht es. Wenn nicht, kauft einen guten Mixer und macht es dann :)

-

Haselnuss-Krokant-Creme – 2 Arten: cremig, oder knusprig

  • 2 cups geröstete kandierte Haselnüsse / Krokant*
  • ca. 1 cup Haselnuss- oder Mandelstückchen
  • Sonnenblumenöl, oder anderes geschmacklich neutrales Öl (optional)

*Ich habe Krokant fertig gekauft, kann man aber auch selbermachen.

Püriere die Krokantstückchen bis eine cremige Masse entsteht (wenn ihr keinen leistungsstarken Mixer habt, eventuell etwas Öl hinzufügen, damit es einfacher geht). An dieser Stelle kann man auch aufhören, aber ich wollte zwei Versionen von Praliné machen – cremig, und eine “knusprige”, mit Haselnussstücken.

Weil ich keinen besonders guten Pürierstab hatte, wurde es nicht cremig, und dann kann man es etwas anders machen: so lange pürieren, dass der Stab nicht überhitzt (bei mir waren das ein paar Minuten). Dann die Masse durch ein Sieb streichen (je feiner das Sieb, umso cremiger wird die Nussbutter) – ich nahm zwei Siebe mit unterschiedlicher “Netzstärke” nacheinander. Was im Sieb übrig bleibt, vermischte ich dann mit ca. 1 cup Haselnussstückchen und etwas Sonnenblumenöl weil es etwas fest war (optional, nur um es etwas streichbarer zu machen).

6 thoughts on “Hazelnut Praline Paste | Haselnuss-Krokant-Creme

  1. This looks so luxurious! Oh jeez, now the wheels in my head are turning about roasting/candying my own hazelnuts and turning them into nut butter — though maybe it isn’t worth the work, especially if you have to skin the hazelnuts yourself (so annoying!). Hmm….

    1. yeah it is a bit time consuming… but considering how much they charge for the very small jars in our health food shop, it´s defo something worth trying :)

Leave a Reply

