Berlin Pt. 1

deutsche Version

I am in Berlin now! :) Over the next days I will post whatever nice things I find in this town that is being hyped as one of Germanys top spots for vegans. (you can also check out Part 2 or Part 3 of my Berlin reviews) So you will get a mixture of photos, product reviews, and of course, the continuation of my christmas sweets theme. To avoid repetition: unless stated otherwise, all foods are vegan and glutenfree. And this was my day…

Breakfast

  • Chufli Basic by Govinda. This stuff is great. It´s got Chufas (tigernuts), quinoa, buckwheat, hemp and teff, plus sunflower seeds and dried fruits. It´s like a superfood breakfast bowl. And the cinnamon makes it even better. I added some agave, but you could leave it out, if you don´t need it that sweet.

Dr Pogo Vegankultur – Kollektiv

  • Beautiful. Staff is very friendly, and had good tipps on where to find certain things. They have, what stores like that usually have: cheese, yoghurt, burger patties, tofu, meat, spreads, spices, fresh produce, sweets, things for baking… as always I was very tempted to  buy lots of things, but I managed to not go overboard. I bought jelly/gummy bears (Vantastic Foods Bio Frucht Grizzlies), chocolate (bonvita rice milk for christmassy spiced chocolate nuts  – recipe in the following days), and kala namak (black salt) – because I want to make this vegan fried egg. Yes, it´s a thing. My family won´t believe it :)

VUX

  • liked the looks of it. They have bagels, and the cakes and baked goods looked very tasty. All vegan, but sadly not much for glutenfree. Just soup, and the beverages. But these looked good as well, with smoothies, coffees and lassis (a yoghurt drink).

ethnic/oriental stores

  • They have lots of cool things like spices, nuts, tee and sauces. And halva in many different varieties, with nuts, chocolate, vanilla and other flavours. Sometimes it contains honey, but in 99% of the cases it´s vegan. Just read the label. I can only recommend it to you, I especially love halva with pistachios… sooo good. What I also like are stuffed vine leaves (again, read labels, but it´s usually fine), which are nice and filling. I also saw many sweets made of fruit and/or nuts (fruit leathers or truffles), that are a lot cheaper than in other stores.

DM – health&beauty retailer chain

  • Here I have found many nice things over the years. This time I discovered “Dominosteine” by Alnavit ( a traditional christmas sweet made of three layers – spiced sponge base, fruit jelly and marzipan – cut into cubes and covered in chocolate) and was very happy to see that I could eat it, as I missed it quite a bit^^ the taste was great, they were just how I remembered them. Also saw Spekulatius (spiced christmas cookies). Schär has a big range of baked goods, cookies, bread and sweets (all glutenfree, partly vegan). “Alnatura Selection” has some vegan sweets, for example: “Ingwer-Marzipan Konfekt” (ginger marzipan sweet), schokolierte Ingwerstäbchen (chocolate covered ginger sticks) and “Fruchtkonfekt Erdbeer Rhabarber” (fruit sweet made of strawberry and rhubarb). Many other savoury things are also available, like tofu in different flavours, spreads and ready-made patty mixes.

Lunch

  • lunch was leftover from yesterdays dinner: my dear friend Gillian from healthytastycheap made a yummy lentil stew with roasted cauliflower and pumpkin, zucchini, tomato paste, coconut milk and a bit of peanut butter. Very nice.

Also I am currently on a hunt for “nougat” (the german variety, which is a smooth, firm and creamy hazelnut chocolate paste… amazing stuff) for my take on Ferrero Rochers. As soon as I find that, you will know, because I will not be able to keep that recipe a secret :)

Think we´re off to a good start. Found some nice places today, and bought some yummy things. Generally speaking, I have mixed feeling about being in a city. The air is burning in my eyes and nose (although that may also be because it´s cold). It´s a very different vibe from what I experienced in the last 8 months (being surrounded by nature), and I´m not sure I like it. Don´t get me wrong, I do like that there are places where I can eat, nice health food stores, including an all-vegan supermarket (!), all within walking distance. But I´m just not used to city life anymore, and I´m not sure that I really want to get used to it again. Well. Time will tell :)

_______________________________

Ich bin jetzt in Berlin! :) in den nächsten Tagen werde ich über Dinge berichten, die ich entdecke in dieser Stadt…  die bekannt ist als eine der besten Städte für Veganer in Deutschland (ihr könnt euch auch Teil 2 oder Teil 3 meiner Berlin reviews anschauen). Ihr bekommt Fotos, Produktbeschreibungen und natürlich die Weiterführung meines Weihnachts-Süßigkeiten-Themas. Um Wiederholung zu vermeiden: soweit nicht anders vermerkt, ist alles vegan und glutenfrei. Und dies war mein Tag…

Frühstück

  • Chufli Basic von Govinda. Sehr lecker. Es besteht aus Chufas (Erdmandeln), Quinoa, Buchweizen, Hanfsamen und Teff, plus Sonnenblumenkerne und Trockenobst. Ein gesundes Frühstücksmüsli, und der Zimt macht es noch besser. Ich habe es mit etwas Agavensirup gegessen, aber das kann man auch weglassen, wenn es nicht allzu süß sein soll.

Dr Pogo Vegankultur – Kollektiv

  • Wunderschön. Personal ist supernett, und hatte gute Tipps parat, wo man bestimmte Sachen finden kann. Es gibt was es halt so gibt: Käse, Joghurt, Bratlinge, Tofu, Wurst, Aufstriche, Gewürze, Gemüse, Süßigkeiten, Sachen zum Backen… Wie immer in einem veganen oder Bioladen kann ich mich kaum zurückhalten. Hab es aber diesmal geschafft, und nur ein paar Sachen gekauft, u.a. Gummibärchen (Vantastic Foods Bio Frucht Grizzlies), Schokolade (bonvita rice milk für Weihnachts-Schokonüsse) und Kala Namak (schwarzes Salz) – weil ich dieses vegane Spiegelei machen will. Ja, sowas gibt es. Meine Familie wird total überrascht sein^^

VUX

  • schön eingerichtet. Es gibt ein leckere Dinge wie Bagels, und die Kuchen und Backwaren sahen superlecker aus. Komplett vegan, aber leider kaum glutenfreies Angebot: nur Suppe, und natürlich die Getränke. Diese sahen aber sehr interessant aus, mit Angeboten wie Smoothies, Lassis und Kaffee.

Orientalische/Spezialialitätenläden

  • die haben echt einige coole Sachen wie Gewürze, Nüsse, Tee und Saucen. Meist Halva in allen erdenklichen Formen, mit Nüssen, Schokolade, Vanille. Manchmal ist Honig drin, aber in 99% der Fälle sind sie vegan, einfach Zutaten durchlesen. Ich kann echt nur jedem empfehlen, Halva zu probieren, das mit Pistazien ist mein Favorit. Und was ich auch gerne mag, sind die eingelegten Weinblätter, welche auch so gut wie immer vegan sind, und gut satt machen. Und ich habe auch viele Süßigkeiten auf Frucht- und/oder Nussbasis (getrocknete Fruchtpürees oder Trüffel) gesehen, die viel billiger sind als in anderen Läden.

DM – Drogeriemarkt

  • Bei DM finde ich hin und wieder Perlen, wie auch dieses Mal: Dominosteine von Alnavit (superlecker. OMG. Genauso, wie ich sie in Erinnerung habe). Habe auch Spekulatius gesehen. Schär hat auch so einige Backwaren, Kekse, Brote und Mehle (alles glutenfrei, manches vegan). Von Alnatura Selection gibt es Süßigkeiten, vegan sind z.B.: das “Ingwer-Marzipan Konfekt” , schokolierte Ingwerstäbchen und “Fruchtkonfekt Erdbeer Rhabarber”. Es gibt auch herzhaftes wie Tofu mit verschiedenen Gewürzen, Aufstriche und Bratling-Fertigmischungen.

Mittagessen

  • Mittagessen war was wir gestern zum Abendbrot hatten. Meine liebe Freundin Gillian von healthytastycheap hat einen richtig leckeren Linseineintopf gemacht – mit Linsen, ofengeröstetem Blumenkohl und Kürbis, Zucchini, Tomatenmark, Kokosmilch und etwas Erdnussbutter. Hmm.

Außerdem bin ich grad auf der Jagd nach Nougat. Für meine Version von Ferrero Rochers. Sobald ich es finde, werdet ihr es wissen, denn dieses Rezept kann ich bestimmt nicht für mich behalten :)

Es war ein guter Anfang. Ich habe einige schöne Orte entdeckt, und leckere Sachen gekauft. Generell habe ich aber gemischte Gefühle bezüglich dem Stadtleben. Die Luft brennt in meiner Nase und den Augen (was natürlich auch an der Kälte liegen kann). Es ist ein ganz anderes Gefühl, als was ich in den letzten Monaten erlebt habe (in der Natur), und ich mag es nicht besonders. Versteht mich nicht falsch, es ist schon schön, dass ich essen gehen kann, und Bioläden, sowie ein komplett veganer Supermarkt (!) bequem zu Fuß erreichbar sind. Aber ich bin das Stadtleben einfach nicht mehr gewöhnt, und ich weiß auch nicht, ob ich mich überhaupt wieder daran gewöhnen will. Naja. Wir werden sehen :)

4 thoughts on “Berlin Pt. 1

Leave a Reply

